Sunday, March 9, 2008

Select Seventeen

The election just ended, but I'm not gonna be an instant political analyst like lotsa people will be in the aftermath of this 'tsunami'. I am blogging today actually just to congratulate these people:

Wan Abdul Hakim Wan Mokhtar (BN) Air Putih ( C'85)
Dr Nik Mazian Nik Mohamed (PAS) Gaal (C'75)
Dr Mohd Hatta Mat Ramli (PAS) Kuala Krai (C'73)
Datuk Kamaruddin Jaafar (PAS) Tumpat (C'68)
Tan Sri Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah (BN) Gua Musang (C'52)
Dato' Seri Mohamad Nazri Aziz (BN) Padang Rengas (C'71)
Datuk Saifuddin Abdullah(BN) Temerloh (C'78)
Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad (PKR) Seri Setia (C'99)
Iskandar Samad (PAS) Chempaka (C'78)
Datuk Hishammuddin Hussein (BN) Sembrong (C'78)
Dato' Kamarul Baharin Abbas (PKR) Teluk Kemang (C'64)
Dr Mohd Taslim (PAS) Maharani (C'68)
Datuk Za'abar Mohd Adib (BN) Rantau Abang (C'71)
Datuk Sharir Samad (BN) Johor Bahru (C'65)
Mohd Zahir Abdul Khalid (BN) Kamunting (C'85)
Dato' Rashid Din (PKR) Merbok (C'64)
Abdul Aziz Kadir (PAS) Jelawat (C'66)

Yes indeed, these are my fellow old boys. A few more names competed yet lost. I'm sure they will give it another go next time around, that's the spirit. Again, congratulations to all. A special round of applause to Budu who won his Seri Setia seat thus making him the youngest MCOB (ever?) of this round to be a YB. The time to promise has come and gone, now it is time to deliver. Your voters have put their faith in you, don't let them down.

Ohh by the way, MCOBA is apolitical. Brotherhood exceeds parties and factions.

Fiat Sapientia Virtus.

footnote: This list could become Select Eighteen should Wan Azizah actually stepped down and gave hubby Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim (PKR) (C'64) the reigns to Permatang Pauh.

edited: a new has cropped up, which is Abdul Aziz Kadir of DUN Jelawat, hence the change of title.


Anonymous said...

Dr Nik Mazian Nik Mohamed <-- oh, ayah kak 'ei dak koleq rupenye ... haha

The Banker said...

anon: yes he is.

asniloveschocolate said...

...Wan Azizah actually stepped down and gave hubby Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim (PKR) (C'64) the reigns to Permatang Pauh....<-- kalau election after april '08 bolehla kot.. =)

The Banker said...

asni: that's what's going to happen. Wan Azizah as the incumbent will step down from her position, meaning the seat will be empty. hence the need for a re-election for the area. of course she will wait after 14th april. who do you think will win between anwar and datuk pirdaus? anwar back in parliament, good stuff!

Anonymous said...

Datuk Hishammuddin Hussein?? MCOB??
Are you sure??

The Banker said...

anon: yes i'm sure. i got the list from mcoba's mailing list. in fact, i've seen his name in the mcoba member's registry. he wasn't there for long though, just for a short period of time. i guess not many people know about it.

*fizzy* said...

datin seri wan azizah is our OG.
hey, ramainya from kelantan!

bila nak masuk calon ni, wahai muhammad?